read now for free!Free PDF version


HEINZ 18

Online magazine for underwater photography

THE RIGHT ONE | MAGIC LIGHT · BIO FLUORESCENCE | MALTA

COVER PHOTOGRAPHER: Arturo J. Telle Thiemann
TOP SHOT: David Doubilet | Manuel Plaickner | Herbert Frei | Ace Wu | Weiwei Zeng | ArminTrutnau

THE RIGHT ONE
SOUTHERN RIGHT WHALE / VALDÉS / ARGENTINA
Underwater photography & Text: Adriana Basques
The southern right whale used to be the »right« whale to harpoon at the beginning of the whaling season, as it did not sink after its death because it had more fat than other whale species. He was hunted almost up to his extinction and only 1935 put under worldwide protection. It carries the doubtful title »the right one« in English-speaking countries until today.

MAGIC LIGHT
BIOFLUORESCENCE
Underwater photography & Text: Werner Fiedler 
The tropical underwater world is full of fluorescent organisms. In the daytime you hardly notice them. Only at night when the light is right do they present their spectacular display of colours. To observe this phenomenon is pure fascination - photographing it is a challenge at times. 

MALTA
Underwater photography & Text: Gerald Nowak, Sibylle Gerlinger
The small EU member state is also its outpost. The strategic position in the Mediterranean has always been both a curse and a blessing, and the very reason for everything that could develop here. In any case, the country has much more to offer than just beautiful dive sites.

MALTA WRACKS
Underwater photography & Text: Steve Jones
Throughout the centuries Malta has always been a fought over island because of its important location between Africa and Europe. The wreck pictures document a part of the eventful recent history and give an idea of the mighty powers that fought for the small island in the Mediterranean.

kostenlos online lesen!PDF download kostenlos


HEINZ 18

Online Magazin für Unterwasserfotografie

DER RICHTIGE | MAGIC LIGHT · BIO-FLUORESZENZ | MALTA

TITELFOTOGRAF: Danny Van Belle
TOP SHOT: David Doubilet | Manuel Plaickner | Herbert Frei | Ace Wu | Weiwei Zeng | ArminTrutnau

DER RICHTIGE 
GLATTWALE / VALDÉS / ARGENTINIEN
Unterwasserfotografie & Text: Adriana Basques
Der Glattwal war zu Beginn der Walfangzeit der »richtige« Wal zum harpunieren, da er nach seinem Tod nicht unterging, denn er hatte mehr Fett als andere Walarten. Er wurde fast bis zum Aussterben gejagt und erst 1935 unter weltweiten Schutz gestellt. Den zweifelhaften Titel »Der Richtige« trägt er im englischen Sprachraum bis heute.

MAGIC LIGHT
BIO-FLUORESZENZ
Unterwasserfotografie & Text: Werner Fiedler
Die tropische Unterwasserwelt ist voller fluoreszierender Organismen. Doch am Tag bemerkt man sie kaum. Erst in der Nacht und im richtigen Licht präsentieren sie ihr spektakuläres Farbfeuerwerk. Das Phänomen zu beobachten, bedeutet pure Faszination – es zu fotografieren, bisweilen eine Herausforderung.

MALTA
Unterwasserfotografie & Text: Gerald Nowak, Sibylle Gerlinger
Der kleinste Mitgliedsstaat der EU ist zugleich sein Außenposten. Die strategische Lage im Mittelmeer war schon immer Fluch und Segen zugleich und der Grund für alles, was hier entstehen konnte. Auf jeden Fall hat Malta mit seinen 3 Inseln viel mehr zu bieten als nur schöne Tauchplätze.

MALTA-WRACKS
Underwater photography & Text: Steve Jones
Malta war im Laufe der Jahrhunderte wegen seiner strategisch bedeutsamen Lage zwischen Afrika und Europa schon immer eine umkämpfte Insel. Die Wrack-Bilder dokumentieren einen Teil der bewegten jüngeren Geschichte und lassen die Mächte erahnen, die um die kleine Insel im Mittelmeer kämpften.